Monday, June 22, 2015

Series Review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

Teen fans of Greek Mythology and fantasy will enjoy the Percy Jackson series. There are five books in this series.

Book 1: The Lightning Thief
Book 2: The Sea of Monsters
Book 3: The Titan's Curse      
Book 4: The Battle of the Labyrinth
Book 5: The Last Olympian

Percy Jackson goes to a school for "bad kids" and accidentally-on-purpose destroys his teacher, who apparently was a monster. He is then taken to Camp Half-Blood, the only safe place for demigods. A demigod is a son or daughter of a god, also known as a half-blood, which happens when a god marries a human. Percy is the son of Poseidon, God of the Sea. A demigod's job is to help the gods in wars or other disasters. The huge disaster in this series is The Titan War. The Titans escaped and set out to seek revenge on the gods. Some of Percy's friends side with Cronus, the Titan king, and it is up to Percy and his friends to stop the rebellion and destroy Cronus before he destroys them.

My friend recommended this series, and at first, I was a little reluctant, but I soon fell in love with Greek Mythology and Percy. Anyone who wants to learn Greek Mythology should read the Percy Jackson series. It answers a lot of questions that you wouldn't think to ask and describes some legends and myths in way simpler terms than Google or textbooks.

Book one, as shown in the photo above, was a little a bit of a disappointment compared to the others because it didn't have much excitement. The other books in this series are very action-packed. I strongly urge you to continue the series, even if you don't love book one. If you don't like book two, then maybe this isn't the series for you. Please continue to book two because it is completely different than book one and much more interesting.

There are movies of the first two books, but don't watch them until you read the books because it won't make sense at all.  The best book in this series is book five, and you will not be disappointed with the ending!

Title: Percy Jackson and the Olympians Book 1: The Lightning Thief
Author: Rick Riordan
Publisher: Disney Hyperion Books
Pages: 377
Series: Yes, Book 1
Rating: 4 Stars


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...